Talks

Benwu Studio

talks_BenwuStudio_000.jpg

Benwu Studio was set up by Hongchao Wang (ECAL) and Peng You (RCA) in New York City in 2012. The partnership initially focused on experimenting with materials and craft research. They were joined in 2015 by the architect Ge Wei (RCA) and product designer Qiyun Deng (ECAL), when Benwu Studio became a multi-disciplinary design agency specialising in display, product, and interior design. The agency now has offices in both Shanghai & Beijing and 14 full time staff, and has worked on important projects for clients such as Hermès, Petit H, Vacheron Constantin, Cassina, Isabel Marant, Mini, Baccarat, Swarovski, Perrier Jouet, Remy Martin, Lane Crawford, Comme Moi, MFK, Sealy, SKP, and Edros.
www.benwustudio.com

What was the first product/work you designed? What does design mean to you?
Our first product was a mortise and tenon structure, which was a joint effort between You Peng and me. It was inspired by the toy Kong Ming Lock – which was all the rage in 2011, when my partner and I were making sketches and drawings – and symbolised our friendship. Time Flies. Now we have taken on a lot of new people, who pulled out all the stops to join our team, one big family.

What are the 3 things in your home that you would never be without?
I share a rented house with some friends. Initially the house was full of books, but then we moved to the studio, leaving only a television and the beds at home. If I owned my own house, I would set myself three different projects. The first would be a splendid kitchen featuring Bulthaup’s System B2, creating a suitable environment for cooking healthily. The second project would involve Poliform’s Senzafine walk-in closet to encourage me to take greater care over my appearance. The third would involve the Veliero bookcase designed for Cassina by Franco Albini.

Is there a particular subject, a design field that interests you particularly, one you find stimulating?
We haven’t done much in the way of exhibiting works of art or collections in galleries. We have just set up a new department – One-off – at Benwu Studio, which deals with one-off pieces collected by galleries, and we are currently making contact with other galleries about more potential contracts.

Contemporary design seeks to address human needs and emotions. As a Millennial, do you think new technologies will reshape the design landscape?
My partner You Peng is very good at dealing with electronic technology problems. Another partner, Deng Qiyun, is an expert in the application of new cutting-edge materials and techniques to mass production. We are all passionate about harnessing the huge market potential in Guangdong Province. Science and technology remain the top priority for our future development. In China, designers born between 1970 and 1985 have made a great deal of money. That notwithstanding, those resources that have been tapped and the wealth that has been acquired are infinite. So, making a technological breakthrough would be the logical way forward.

How do you imagine your home, your work, and your city in ten years’ time?
I hope that I will still be working in design in 10 years’ time, in cities like Shanghai and Beijing. Only by making pioneering efforts can we carve out a vantage point in the design industry. Anyone clinging to conventional ideas will be outpaced by swift socio-economic development. It would be fantastic if we were able to set up our practice in the magnificent North Bund complex, which has wonderful views over Shanghai. We have always had offices in new buildings with parking services. Besides which, being on a top floor and the ensuing sunlight mean that we’ve had the most fantastic views.

  • talks_BenwuStudio_001.jpg
  • talks_BenwuStudio_002.jpg
  • talks_BenwuStudio_003.jpg
  • talks_BenwuStudio_004.jpg
  • talks_BenwuStudio_005.jpg
  • talks_BenwuStudio_006.jpg

Salone WorldWide Moscow

ИНТЕРВЬЮ

Benwu Studio

talks_BenwuStudio_000.jpg

Benwu Studio была создана выпускником Высшей школы искусств Лозанны (ECAL) Хунчао Ваном (Hongchao Wang) и выпускником лондонского Королевского колледжа искусств (RCA) Пэном Ю (Peng You) в Нью-Йорке в 2012 году. Изначально они занимались в основном экспериментами с материалами и исследовали возможности традиционных ремесел. В 2015 году к ним присоединились архитектор Вэй Гэ (Wei Ge), также обучавшаяся в RCA, и дизайнер Циюнь Дэн (Qiyun Deng), закончившая ECAL, после чего партнерство превратилось в многопрофильное дизайнерское агентство Benwu Studio, специализирующееся в области оформления витрин, промышленного и интерьерного дизайна. Теперь у студии есть офисы в Шанхае и Пекине и 14 штатных сотрудников, а среди клиентов числятся такие известные компании, как Hermès, petit h, Vacheron Constantin, Cassina, Isabel Marant, Mini, Baccarat, Swarovski, Perrier-Jouët, Rémy Martin, Lane Crawford, Comme Moi, MFK, Sealy, SKP и Edros.
www.benwustudio.com/

Каким был первый объект, который вы разработали? И что для вас значит дизайн?
Нашим первым продуктом была конструкция на шипах и пазах, результат моей совместной работы с Пэном. Мы вдохновлялись китайской головоломкой Kong Ming Lock — она пользовалась большой популярностью в 2011 году, когда мы набрасывали эскизы — и символизировали таким образом нашу дружбу. Как быстро летит время! Сейчас у нас трудится много новых людей, которые вкладывают всю свою душу и все силы, чтобы быть частью нашей команды, одной большой семьей.

От каких трех вещей в своем доме вы никогда бы не избавились?
Я арендую дом совместно с друзьями. Поначалу всюду были книги, но потом мы переехали в студию и оставили в ней только телевизор и кровати. Если бы у меня был свой дом, я бы организовал там три разных проекта. Первый — великолепная кухня с системой B2 от Bulthaup, создающая все условия для поддержания здорового питания. В рамках второго проекта я бы использовал встроенный шкаф Senzafine от Poliform, который помог бы мне лучше следить за своей внешностью. А третий проект включал бы книжный шкаф Veliero, спроектированный Франко Альбини для Cassina.

Есть ли конкретный предмет или область дизайна, которые вас особенно интересуют и стимулируют творческий процесс?
Мы пока что не так много работали с выставками и галереями. Только недавно создали новый отдел в Benwu Studio — One-off, который занимается разовыми изделиями, собранными галереями. И в настоящее время мы договариваемся с несколькими галереями о дальнейших возможных контрактах. 

Современный дизайн направлен на удовлетворение человеческих потребностей и эмоций. Будучи представителями поколения Миллениума, как вы считаете, сильно ли повлияют новые технологии на пространство дизайна? 
Мой партнер Пэн Ю очень хорошо разбирается в электронных технологиях. А наша коллега Циюнь Дэн является экспертом в области применения передовых материалов и технологий для массового производства. И мы все увлечены идеей использования огромного рыночного потенциала провинции Гуандун. Наука и техника остаются главным приоритетом в развитии нашего будущего. В Китае дизайнеры поколения 1970–1985 годов сумели заработать приличные деньги. При этом те ресурсы, которые были задействованы, и приобретенные богатства бесконечны. Так что технологический прорыв был бы логичным дальнейшим шагом. 

Каким вы представляете свой дом, свою работу и свой город через 10 лет?
Надеюсь, что и через 10 лет я буду работать дизайнером, в таких городах, как Шанхай или Пекин. Только разрабатывая принципиально новые решения, мы сможем занять достойное место в индустрии дизайна. А те люди, что цепляются за устоявшиеся идеи, просто отстанут от стремительного социально-экономического развития мира. Было бы замечательно, если бы мы смогли работать в великолепном комплексе North Bund, который славится прекрасными видами на Шанхай. У нас всегда были офисы в новостройках с парковкой. Кроме того, находиться на верхнем этаже, не обделенном солнечным светом, — значит наслаждаться самым фантастическим видом.

talks_BenwuStudio_001.jpg
talks_BenwuStudio_002.jpg
talks_BenwuStudio_003.jpg
talks_BenwuStudio_004.jpg
talks_BenwuStudio_005.jpg
talks_BenwuStudio_006.jpg